The Witch's Bakery Wiki emblemThe Witch's Bakery

The Witch’s Bakery Switch Upgrade: Switch 2 Upgrade Info

Get the latest on The Witch’s Bakery Switch Upgrade for Switch 2. We check official October 2026 Steam news on the upgrade eligibility, costs, and steps.

The Witch’s Bakery Switch Upgrade: Switch 2 Upgrade Info
Official media

As of October 14, 2026, there is no official announcement of a free or paid The Witch’s Bakery Switch Upgrade from Nintendo Switch to Nintendo Switch 2. That is the direct answer to the buying question right now. The October 8, 2026 Steam news post confirms a Switch 2 version, but it does not say whether Switch owners qualify for an upgrade, how much it would cost, or what steps you would need to follow.

This matters because a lot of launch-day conversation can blur two separate things: a game being available on Switch 2 and a Switch purchase automatically unlocking the Switch 2 version. The official wording supports the first point, but not the second.

What Official Sources Do and Don’t Say About the Witch’s Bakery Switch Upgrade

The October 8, 2026 news post on the official Steam news hub has the clearest platform statement available. It says you will be able to play The Witch’s Bakery on “PC (Steam), PlayStation 5, XBOX, Nintendo Switch & Nintendo Switch 2.” That confirms a standalone Switch 2 release, but it does not describe a Switch-to-Switch 2 upgrade program.

The same post also says physical editions will release “just two days later on 16th October 2026,” and it lists pre-orders for “PS5, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2 (Game Key Card) through Silver Lining Direct or via your local retailers.”

The missing piece is the upgrade policy. There is no official line in the allowed sources about whether the digital Switch copy, physical Switch copy, or any future Switch 2 copy share or upgrade across those two Nintendo platforms.

That platform list also appears alongside several other official details. The October 8 post describes the game as a purely single-player, story-focused experience, confirms interface and subtitle support for eight languages including English, French, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese, and states that The Witch’s Bakery does not use any generative AI. The same news feed notes that the team showed the game on a Nintendo Switch 2 at Gamescom 2026 in the Indie Arena Booth. A playable Switch 2 build shows the version exists, but it is not an upgrade announcement.

Official detailWhat it saysDoes it confirm an upgrade?
Switch 2 platform availabilityListed as a launch platform in the October 8 news postNo
Physical Switch 2 editionReleases October 16, 2026No
Switch 2 pre-order format“Switch 2 (Game Key Card)”No
Upgrade eligibility, cost, or stepsNot mentioned in the official sources reviewedNo

Pricing, Platforms, and the Missing Upgrade Details

The game’s official details give you a useful release snapshot, but they do not answer the Switch 2 upgrade question. In the October 8, 2026 Steam news post, the digital price is listed as £16.99 / $19.99 / €19.99 with a 10% launch discount for digital stores.

The same post says digital editions launch on October 14, 2026, while physical editions follow on October 16, 2026. The official Steam page also lists the developer as Sunny Lab and the publisher as Silver Lining Interactive.

Here is the launch snapshot from the official news and store pages.

ItemOfficial detail
Digital release dateOctober 14, 2026
Physical release dateOctober 16, 2026
Digital price£16.99 / $19.99 / €19.99, with a 10% launch discount
Confirmed platformsPC (Steam), PlayStation 5, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2
Later mobile versioniOS and Android via Crunchyroll Game Vault
Mac versionNot launching

The official timeline also comes from the same news posts. The launch date was moved from August 20 to October 14, 2026, and the playable demo was available until September 25, 2026 before being taken down because the old build no longer represented the full game. None of those updates include a Switch upgrade policy, so they cannot be used to confirm free or discounted access across the two Nintendo versions.

Why Switch 2 Game Key Cards Are Not Upgrade Proof

One detail from the October 8 news post may look like an upgrade clue: physical pre-orders are available on “Nintendo Switch 2 (Game Key Card).” That wording only tells you the physical Switch 2 version may be sold in a Game Key Card format.

It does not say a Switch Game Key Card or Switch digital purchase includes a Switch 2 upgrade. It also does not say Switch 2 Game Key Card buyers get a Switch copy. The official pre-order note is a distribution detail, not an upgrade path.

Player questionOfficial evidenceSafe status
Is there a Switch 2 version?Yes, listed as a platformConfirmed platform
Does the Switch 2 physical release use a Game Key Card?Yes, according to the pre-order noteFormat detail
Can Switch owners upgrade to Switch 2?Not statedUnannounced in official sources
Can Switch 2 owners also claim the Switch version?Not statedUnannounced in official sources

If you see forum posts or store comments using the Game Key Card wording as proof of a free upgrade, that is a stretch. The official sources reviewed here simply do not contain an upgrade announcement.

What You Can Do Right Now

The practical move is to treat the Switch and Switch 2 versions as separate purchases until the developer or publisher says otherwise. That is not a guarantee that an upgrade will never exist; it is just the only safe reading of the October 8, 2026 official news post.

The best official places to watch for future policy are the official Steam news hub for The Witch’s Bakery and the official Steam store page. The store page also links to the game website, Discord server, and social accounts under @SunnyLabGames.

ActionWhy it helps
Check the official Steam news hubFuture upgrade news or platform policy changes would likely appear here
Use the official Steam store pageIt links to the website, Discord, and social channels
Ask the developer or publisher directlyThe store page lists team contact channels
Avoid treating retailer listings as upgrade confirmationRetailer wording can describe formats without confirming cross-platform entitlement

On October 14, 2026, the Steam store page still listed the game as not yet available and planned to unlock in approximately two hours. That is a useful reminder that launch-day screenshots can capture an early store state, so official announcements remain the safest source for platform-policy questions.

FAQ

Is there a The Witch’s Bakery Switch Upgrade from Switch to Switch 2?

As of October 14, 2026, no. The official Steam news post confirms a Nintendo Switch 2 version, but it does not announce upgrade eligibility, pricing, or redemption steps.

Does buying the physical Switch 2 Game Key Card mean I get the Switch version free?

No. The October 8, 2026 news post names the Switch 2 physical format as a Game Key Card, but that is not an upgrade statement. It does not say the Switch and Switch 2 versions are cross-entitled.

Where can I find the official platform list for The Witch’s Bakery?

The October 8, 2026 Before You Buy post on the official Steam news hub lists PC (Steam), PlayStation 5, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2. It also mentions a later mobile release through Crunchyroll Game Vault and no Mac version.

What should I do before buying the Switch version for a possible Switch 2 upgrade?

Do not count on an unannounced upgrade. Check the official Steam news page and the game’s Steam store page for future statements from Sunny Lab or Silver Lining Interactive. As of the October 8, 2026 news post, the safe view is that Switch and Switch 2 remain separate purchase questions.

Related Articles

Continue Reading